Wrinkles

wrinkles.jpg

I love growing older! That’s the realisation that surprised me yesterday morning when in between some complex ‘how am I going to deal with this work issue’ thought process it toppled me from behind. After sharing it with a friend of mine, he asked me whether I meant ‘aging’ or ‘maturing’. I said maturing, after all ‘aging’ just reminded me of loosing control over my bowel movements and shriveling up. But having thought about it more I mean “growing older”.

Truth is, I love wrinkles, more so, face wrinkles. I can’t think of anything else that depicts life more than a wrinkled face, showing the various depths of worn paths, mapping out what life a person lived, a life of worry, a life of laughter, a life of study, a life of hard work, a life of expensive moisturising creams, a life of balance, a life of depression, a life of passion or calm. Granted I am at the age where I don’t have enough to have a wrinkly face, however there are too many to look 20. There are mornings where my fingers desperately massage my forehead trying to erase evidence of the scepticism, drama and astonishment which ruled my teenage life. Most mornings I don’t notice them, subconsciously probably aware that there will be lots of other types of wrinkles following to cover up a past that is just that.

As many a child I wanted to be grown up. In my teenage years I was trying to figure out who I was without my parents, in my early twenties I was excited by the vast possibilities that life offers just to be slapped by the realisation that my life is my own responsibility and what that really means in regards to living every day shortly thereafter.

And now? Now I have made enough experiences to know the difference between what will make me happy and what makes me happy. I know the difference between what society has listed as valuable and what is valuable to me. I have my definition of Love and know the difference between me being in love with someone and me loving someone (and vice versa). I am proud of who I am, and know how to deal with who I am not. So although there is still a lot of things that I don’t know, and even more things that I don’t know that I don’t know, my most inner core stands strong and the rest of life gets assessed based on that.

There is no way I could have learnt all that without experiencing and growing older. And with every year that passes, I experience and learn things that add more detail to who I am.

Or should I say ‘carve another wrinkle’?

~ by spasmicallyperfect on February 28, 2008.

12 Responses to “Wrinkles”

  1. One advantage of growing older is, as you imply, that we have it more together, and are wiser.

    On the other hand, each passing day is one day nearer the grave.

    Woody Allen put it so well when he said: “I don’t want to achieve immortality through my work, but by not dying”.

    Welcome Melissa and thanks for sharing your thoughts.
    Of course there is no one angle to life. At the end of the day we don’t have a choice anyway, we do get older. I’ve heard the complaints, I’ve seen the frustrations, shared the pain of those logical consequences of aging and what we refer to as ‘old age’. I guess above post is my reminder that no matter what happens in life, I am in control of how I deal with it and which angle of view I select.

    Rather than ‘one day nearer to the grave’ I prefer ‘each day is a gift’ (which I don’t get to choose but once I have it I can do with it what I please).

    I would love to have a chat with Woody Allen (who as an artist I adore) to understand his motivations for that quote. Not having that benefit at the moment and having to take his quote literally, as me and an artist as well, I’d have to disagree. Although in true Woody Allen fashion, it’s so him 🙂 .

    Would be great to see you again sometime and thanks again for sharing. Be well.

  2. Love the dog.
    There are some advantages to getting older.One of them is eyesight fails a bit so you don’t see the wrinkles,otherwise you must either get rid of the mirrors or train yourself never to look into them.

    Ah see, you hit the nail right on the head, getting rid of mirrors and training myself not to see them just seems like too much work! I’m a rather lazy person by nature, the less work, the better……. 😉

  3. Wonderful photo.
    Wise words.
    I always enjoy my visits with you.

    Hey Barbara, thanks for coming by, glad you have a good time. Isn’t the pic just great?

  4. You are an amazing woman!!!

    Have a terrific weekend spaz =)

    So I thought 😉 . Thank you. 🙂 …..

  5. I’ve got some laugh lines…thank God for the laughter. Great post.
    kim

    Laughter lines are good. I am hoping to get more of them…… 🙂

  6. This is one of those, “just what I needed to hear today” posts. Earlier, I was composing a poem in my head about what a pain getting older is. But as you’ve so nicely pointed out, there are advantages. Thanks!

    Welcome Ms Queen. I am glad I could offer a ‘what you needed to hear’. I know many times I think that about other people’s posts. Thank you for stopping buy and I will be on the look out for that poem.

  7. I love your reflection on getting older. I am right there with you! Excellent post.

    Ooops, just noticed that my earlier reply had you mistaken for Enreal (avatar similarities). Must have had a moment of ‘old age’ there….. 😉 Me apologises……

  8. What a lovely view into that great mind of yours. . Loving wrinkles. Who woulda thunk it .. but dangit, it makes sense. Perfect sense. Thank you for opening my eyes.

    It was about time you woke up! 😉

  9. this is a truly a wonderful post…in our society”wrinkles”represents a sign of aging.but looking deeper with the meaning of wrinkles, they are the by product of years with laughter,sorrow,pain,joy,struggles and happiness.And each lines shows the years past, the memories that can be truly treasure.
    Like the circle ring of tree, “wrinkles”symbolizes how we mature and become a greater person through the years.
    thanks

    Welcome Rhosie. I am glad you enjoyed this post. Seems you’ve been thinking similar thoughts…… happy aging!

  10. yeah… i think instead we find having a “wrinkles” in a negative way…we must be happy and cheerful of having it,,,coz every lines are the proof of fruitful years that we’ve been through (the trials,pain and the joy)…that make us a better one…
    Godbless

    Some might argue that only younger people would feel that way. Judging by your picture, you’re in that category….. but as I like to say, one’s never too young to have an opinion….. 😉

  11. […] few days later I wrote the ‘Wrinkles’ ( https://spasmicallyperfect.wordpress.com/2008/02/28/wrinkles/ ) post which as a byroduct produced a six word summary. After having thought about it a bit more, I […]

  12. Whats up very nice web site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .
    . I will bookmark your site and take the feeds
    additionally? I’m happy to seek out numerous useful info right here within the publish, we need work out more strategies on this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

Leave a comment