Early morning

sunrise-1

January 1, 2009 @ 6.15am

It is still dark outside, feeling like the deep night still has her blanket wrapped over this part of the world. There is no traffic to be heard, no lights on in the neighbourhood houses. I love being ahead of the game.

This is not the first time I’m up early on New Year’s day, however it is the first time that alcohol is not to blame for it. As a matter of fact, I didn’t have a single drop at midnight. I slept through the countdown. A sign of things to change? Who knows.

One thing that his early morning allows me to do is to listen to the silence. It’s been a long time where I had that luxury. And I’ve missed it. A lot. She welcomes me with open arms and I surrender. I could surrender every morning. Trouble is, most mornings I don’t feel the ‘get up and go’-urge I did today. Most mornings it’s the ‘oh just another 5 minutes’ which turns into another 45 minutes consequentially turning into a mad getting ready frenzy. I HATE those mornings. To this day it remains a mystery how the next morning I can never remember how much I hate them, at least not until I’ve made it from the bed to the shower.

It’s the anticipation. I have no problem jumping out of bed when I there is something cool happening that I need to get ready for. I also don’t have a problem when I need to do something that my personality doesn’t allow me to do in a rush, like pack for vacation, get ready for dinner guests, suit up for a job interview. Unfortunately my job mostly doesn’t fall into those categories unless there is something special going on, like having to give a presentation to clients or senior Management.

I need these quiet times. As far as I can see the only time to really get them is early in the morning or late at night. Staying up too late usually stresses me out hearing my mother’s voice in the back of my head saying: it’s the hours before midnight that count (for sleep). Gosh, wonder whether that’s even true. Probably just another one of those brainwash myths.

So changes for the new year? Yes, need to make more time for quiet. Apart from that (and my usual growth goals), I think 2009 will be just fine without stressing over more stuff.

And just as I run out of things to type, the horizon starts to turn orange.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on January 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
