Aching back and warm heart

Through the office window I see large snow flakes slowing down the pace of the first advent. The Sunday is passing far to quickly, and there is a part of me who is tempted to feel stressed. So many things to do, so little time.

Maybe the last 6 hours were a mistake, maybe I didn’t have the time I invested. But I have wandered around various stores, not really Christmas shopping, however still subconsciously browsing for something that could paint a smile on a loved one’s face. There is nothing, nothing that inspires me, nothing people don’t already have an example of, and especially this year I have become ‘anti’:

Anti-garbage producing stupidities
Anti-artery clogging sweets that don’t even taste good
Anti-anything that is marketed to make life easier, we don’t appreciate any such gains anyway
Anti-overpriced just rip people off because it’s the season
Anti-run of the mill impersonal mass production of whatever
Anti-packed in so much wrapping that it’s simply a crime to buy whatever is inside
Anti-items lacking the one thing Christmas presents should convey:love

And so, today I spent my Sunday making my own Christmas presents. And I already know I’ll use recycled newspaper wrapping, like we used to make in school, to add some suspense to the gifts. I know it will take longer. I know it’s not the ‘in’ thing to do for people my age. I know that once I add up the dollars spent, it may not add up to the gifts I’ll be receiving. But I do know three things:

1. I have time to think about the person I’m in the process of making a gift for, moments we shared this year, what makes them special, and why they are worth my efforts.
2. There is a way to celebrate Christmas without having to burden the Earth with more pollution and garbage which she cannot digest.
3. The people I am privileged to call friends and family, don’t care about dollar value.

So yes, I am going to be busy. But it’s a happy busy.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on November 30, 2008.

One Response to “Aching back and warm heart”

  1. Are you channeling me again? ๐Ÿ˜‰
    My thoughts exactly.
    “dollar value”?
    Nail, meet head. Perfect words.
    Nice heartfelt post.
    ~m

    What is that supposed to mean ‘I’m channeling You’?
    If anything I’ve been ‘complaining’ that it’s the other way around! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thanks for coming by. Missed ya.

Leave a Reply

 
