Against instead of For

(photo @spasmicallyperfect)

You tell me, I’m beautiful
but what good does it do
if I can’t make you see
that you are too.

You tell me, I look sad
but what you don’t find
is that it’s a reflection
of your state of mind.

You wish me good morning
yet you can’t see the light
the sunrise offers us each day
regardless of the night.

You comment on my strength
yet continue to ignore
that you are just as strong but fight
‘against’ instead of ‘for’.

(@spasmicallyperfect)

~ by spasmicallyperfect on November 2, 2008.

6 Responses to “Against instead of For”

  1. The last stanza is definitly the standout. The phrasing “against instead of for” has a lyrical quality that grabs the reader. The other stanzas do not stand out though. They seem rather cliche and thoughtless when compared to the wonderful diction of the last stanza.

    Welcome Acather. Ouch: “cliche” hurts. But, I’m fairly busted šŸ™‚ . One has to love a reaction that is honest all the way. I appreciate it. You are right, it didn’t start out as poem, nor should I have tried to make it one. When proof reading it, I realised that a few lines rhymed and rather than leaving it as is, I settled to rhyme the rest. I’ll think about this one and see what I’ll decide to do. Thank you. Truly. S.

  2. aggrivating, isn’t it.

    and I enjoyed every word of it.

    Thank you Red. šŸ™‚

  3. This is quite lyrical. I’m all for it.

    Thank you Evyl. Glad you liked it. How are things?

  4. I know it’s about love but it makes think about something almost political.
    Strange.
    Must have something to do with the happenings here in the states yesterday.
    I did get a nice sense of ‘flow’ with these words, too.
    ~m

    Interesting. Not sure it was a about love either. Well, yes, in a way. Political, hey? Seems you might have been watching a little too much CNN šŸ˜‰

  5. Wow, was that for me?? lol…

    Why, do you feel that would apply to you?

  6. i Know I know… that’s a pretty cocky statement.

    Not necessarily……. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

 
