My crazy family

(photo @spasmicallyperfect)

I remember years ago sitting at my family’s dinner table observing my father, mother and sister. More than once I wanted to stand up and yell “Cut!”.

“This is not a family dinner, this is the taping of a sitcom, mind you an entertaining one, but there is no way that these conversations, the personalities, the emotions can be happening in real life. I simply refuse to accept that THIS is my family.”

What started out in sheer desperation of an alien teenager (which is precisely how I felt at times) over the years turned into a business opportunity (hey, we are somewhere in between ‘The Cosby Show’ and ‘All in the family’ sprinkled with pinch of Fondue cheese and finished off with tea and Digestives). To this day, I still think we’d be worth a few TV seasons, however since I’m not certain the pay out would cover my shrink bills, I keep that idea locked up tight at the bottom of a full closet.

Don’t get me wrong. I love my family. Every one of them. That’s the only thing left to do after having surrendered to the fact that I am not E.T. but belong into this crazy mix. And tonight as my 65 year old Mother is sitting alone in an airplane on her way to Asia with an open end return ticket and a visa for 12 months while my Dad is sleeping in their house dreaming of first few days of freedom which will eventually turn into boredom and him caving into this “silly” ‘let’s leave Switzerland for the winter’-idea, I am as proud as I can be.

Yes, my family may be crazy, but I love them all, and anyway, as a good friend of mine keeps saying: “It’s not crazy, it’s eccentric!”

Mum: Have a wonderful trip, you’ll be just fine!
Dad: Once you’ve worked your way down the long list of chores Mum left you, remember you’re always welcome here. πŸ˜‰
Sis: Make sure you go check on Dad! And call me before I forget who you are! πŸ˜‰

Hugs to all of you. Wherever you are. I love you.


~ by spasmicallyperfect on September 30, 2008.

6 Responses to “My crazy family”

  1. i’m not sure your family is more ‘eccentric’ than any other i know. i guess one’s own family just drives one crazier. and by the impersonal ‘one’ i mean mine…

    Psssst! Maybe you’ll settle for ‘unique’ then? πŸ˜‰

  2. thanks for all your comments
    i am trying really hard not to look at them as pity-comments for my comment-less posts πŸ˜‰
    all in due time, right?

    I don’t do pity. But I do know that comments do help. And yes, all in due time. πŸ™‚

  3. Ain’t family great.

    Great things always come in small portions πŸ˜‰ .

  4. gotta love ’em.

    Yes, no way around it. πŸ™‚

  5. I’d say,if they are all together they can be only taken in a small dosage.Eccentric,I’m not sure,don’t you prefer unique like ZΓΌrich Airport.

    Yes, I guess ‘unique’ would have been a good word too. πŸ™‚

  6. this so made me smile … my family is crazy too in the best possible way πŸ™‚

    crazy in the best possible way, now that makes ME smile!

Leave a Reply

 
