Boston 2008: check

Beginning of 2008 I made a list of things I wanted to accomplish this year. One of the items was a trip to Boston. Since the surprise for my sister’s 30th Birthday had already dug deep into the wallet and Hubby seemed more inclined to rent a cottage up North than to leave the country yet another time, I had given up on the Boston trip for this year.

A few weeks ago, I went for a drink with my good friend W. It had been too long since our last talk and we realised that both of us had been rather lazy around working on our dreams. So we sat down in the park and restarted our lists: our ‘what we want to do’-lists.

Me: “I really wanted to go Boston, but it’s not going to happen this year.”
W: “Why not?”
Me: “Hubby is set on the Cottage idea, and anyway, it’s too late to plan anything now.”
W: “What is there to plan? Just get in the car and go! You could still do the cottage thing for the second week. Is Hubby opposed to Boston?”
Me: “No, I wouldn’t say he’s opposed.”
W: “Have you told him that you really want to go Boston?”
My silence said it all. No, I hadn’t been that clear. Hubby hadn’t jumped at the Boston idea initially and so for some ridiculous and totally unfounded insecurity of mine (directly linked to my childhood experience of a hearing my parents ‘plan’ vacation), I took it to mean that he didn’t want to go. But he never had said that.

And so I went back home, talked to Hubby and by the next day he was already on the Internet looking for places to stay, ordering “Charlie” equipment and planning itineraries.

My wish list for Boston wasn’t extensive:
– Explore the streets and parks of Boston with my camera
– Experience
– Walk the freedom trail
– See the glass flowers of Harvard
– Follow the footsteps of some great New England writers
– Dip my toes in the ocean
– Eat seafood until I burst
and if at all possible
– visit a certain store to meet two of my virtual friends in person.

Now, having just returned with lots of road trip memories (we did do much more than was on the list) I am looking forward to capturing them in writing over the next few weeks. For now I am truly happy to paint a huge check mark behind the Boston item. And I am finding myself with new inspiration to get the rest of the items for this year done. I may be a little behind, but it doesn’t matter when I get there, just that I get there.

As I close my ‘book of dreams’, I know that I couldn’t have placed that check mark without the following people:

Thank you R. for reminding me that I wanted to go on this trip.
Thank you W. for giving me a much needed kick in the butt……(counting on your continued support) and for taking care of Kea on such short notice.
Thank you I. & D. for taking care of Kea for the first few days.
Thank you S. & N. for looking after the house and taking care of Kelly.
Thank you Smith and Michael for adding such personal warmth to our visit (individual post to follow).

I am blessed to have you all in my life and am truly grateful for what you have done and are continuing to do for me as friends. And don’t complain about the souvenir gifts, with the little trunk space we had, consider yourself lucky that you even got something! 😉

Last but hardly least:
Thank you B. for being such a wonderful partner in crime. I love you.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on August 20, 2008.

5 Responses to “Boston 2008: check”

  1. I’m glad your trip turned out well. It’s nice to see you back.

    Thanks Evyl. It’s nice to be welcomed back.

  2. Hiya MsSpaaaaaaz!!
    Good to see you, Woman.
    So glad you had a great time . . and you got to check that off your dreamlist!

    Yes, I know, I’ve been rather a scarce blogger lately. Hope I didn’t scare you off with that long lecture comment I left on your blog, I sometimes get carried away trying to be helpful.
    Anyway, yes, I am very blessed to place a check mark and to have had such a great time.

  3. S-

    Wonderful summary of your sojourn to Boston.
    Smith and I still talk about it and just how special it was. There was much “icing” on the proverbial cake but I have to say your soulmate is one hell of a guy.
    Any man that would take his wife to a strange city to meet up with the likes of Mr. Smith and I must be deeply commended.
    Kudos to B . . .
    My only regret was that it went so damn fast. I wanted to stay in the city for the night.
    Awesome post, kiddo.
    Love the “duck” picture, too
    ~m

    Thanks M. Wasn’t quite what I was planning on writing but other than 3 lengthy but dizzy drafts of that evening I haven’t been able to really write my account. It seems that there are just too many vital subjects in that story, and I am having a hard time giving each of the 3 their individual attention.
    And re ducks, the strangest thing was that I went back the next day to shoot some pictures of them as it was too dark when we got there the night before. Ended up shooting angels instead of ducks and forgot all about them. Made me mad when I saw postcards of ducks on the next road trip stop, and I couldn’t believe I had forgotten. Oh well, maybe it was for a reason, maybe it was to make sure I return…… 🙂

  4. can t believe you were ‘so close’.
    phone call next week?
    hug

    Oh-oh, thought I may get in trouble….. yes, we definitely need to phone. And just for the record, NY or better YOU is on that list too.

  5. It was a great time.

    Longer comment on your other Boston post.

    -smith

    Sometimes less is more 😉 .

Leave a Reply

 
