Maybe, just maybe…….

It is one of those nights were going to bed seems a sinful waste. I step outside to let the dog out, turn off the bubbling rock, close the patio umbrella and am just about ready to retire when I stop to listen.

Apart from some crickets in the distance it is quiet. Although the sun has long left, the temperature remains warm enough for me not to be cold in my light summer dress. Above the stars are calm and ask me to sit for a while, promising me a peaceful and restful sleep thereafter. So I pull out my favourite seat, lift my legs onto the table, ready to just be.

For what else is there to do, on an evening as magnificent and divine as this? A light breeze picks up my hair and tickles the skin on the back of my neck. There isn’t anybody else out here and yet I feel as welcome and loved as an aware human can be. Gone are the shadows cast by daily acts of my miserable self, trying desperately to keep up not only with what I am meant to be but that what I dream to become.

The night’s embrace has no colours, only levels of light.
Right now, all I see is star light.
And all I feel, is my internal light glowing.
Who knows, maybe there’s a star looking up into its night sky right now.
And maybe, just maybe it can see me shine………

~ by spasmicallyperfect on August 4, 2008.

10 Responses to “Maybe, just maybe…….”

  1. There is something about a starlit night to make me see my place in the scheme of life. I must beg to differ on one point of your story. Your self is far from miserable.

    You are right Evyl…… guess as you said, it takes a starlit night to show us some things….thanks for reading….. Good night.

  2. Hey, Susi

    Ha di u gern

    Dito, my dear friend! Big hugs…..

  3. For what else is there to do, on an evening as magnificent and divine as this? A light breeze picks up my hair and tickles the skin on the back of my neck. There isn’t anybody else out here and yet I feel as welcome and loved as an aware human can be.

    All you need is a cigar. 8)

    Lovely post.

    -smith

    Would that have killed the mosquitos which were also present that evening? 😉

  4. Hi,

    I need your help.

    Please view http://www.whatimgratefulfor.blogspot.com, and leave your comments.

    Thanks.

    I’ll have to look into this once I’m back from vacation. Thanks.

  5. Spaz… you captivate me more and more… you truly are blessed… sounds like a wonderful synchronicity with life… very beautifully described

    Yes I am blessed. Re synchronicity with life, well, some moments are easier than others. Thank you for your kind words G. Be well.

  6. Spaz…I wish I had your perspective of life. You made me smile for a moment. Ali

    If you recognised it, it’s your perspective……. thanks for coming by Ali and I’m happy to have triggered a smile.

  7. There is nothing like these moments I think. And summer is usually the time when I find them. You made me jealous to be there on that spot you described and yeah, I think probably that star did see you shining.
    Annie

    Maybe you are right about summer, less clothes to hold back the light 😉 .

  8. have to be honest,
    that was eerily beautiful

    those are the moments
    in life where you just
    slow down and appreciate
    everything around you

    rare, and amazing at
    the same time

    Welcome R. and thank you for leaving your foot prints. As I look out the window into another summer night, this time a rained out one, I don’t complain but remember. It’s still the same night sky above, “rare and amazing”. Take care, S.

  9. Spaz, you described the night so beautifully. It was as if I were there.
    hugs, kim

    That’s about as good a compliment as a writer of something can ask for. Thank you.

  10. I just read Smith’s post on meeting you and I told him how jealous I was. Hope you’re well.
    kim

    Hey, great to hear from you again, also saw you’re back to writing, will have to be by when I return. Hope all is well. Thank you for your kind words over at Smith’s post. You both give me way too much credit. I am just about finishing off my vacation and will be back, hopefully with a more disciplined writing routine. Hugs, S.

Leave a Reply

 
