Ready to breathe

An early summer day greets my worn soul
The five o’clock sun sparkles on my forearms
Triggering instant awareness of being.
If I until now did but merely exist,
It is now that I feel alive.
All that living I have done today and yet
It takes a passive moment of receiving
That enables me to breathe,
Filling my chest with gratitude.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on June 19, 2008.

3 Responses to “Ready to breathe”

  1. Beautifully written. Sounds like a quiet summer morning where you take a step back to remember the gift of existence. It gives me a subtle ‘seize the day’ kind of feeling.

    … or at least the rest of the day. Thanks for visiting Stacey, always enjoy a new set of foot prints.

  2. That was great. Like a breath of fresh air.

    Must be growing up close to fresh Alp air. 😉 Glad I could help 🙂

  3. What a beautiful morning prayer.
    Annie

    Even though it happened ofter 5PM, yes, the morning would happen just as well.

Leave a Reply

 
