The challenge with living in the present

I have often struggled with the expectation of having to live in the present, looking for an explanation of what that exactly means, understanding the idea however not being able to implement it. I always feel like I’m coming up short. The present is so closely connected to the future and somehow always seems to be held hostage by the past.

Trying to keep myself in the present is impossible. “Oops, just thought about yesterday” or “shoot, just remembered to pick up some salad for dinner!” leave me more frustrated than at peace. Being in the present requires thinking, simply because the present is a concept. Thinking automatically shuts out other elements such as feeling or simpler even: being.

Trouble with the past, the present and the future is that they are human concoction, an external and totally separate entity from our being. Somehow we have integrated those terms into who we are. “My past has shaped me” or “I need to be this to do that”. We are always something. We are hungry, we are late, we are in love, we are angry, we are the best or only human.

If it’s a positive something that we are, the moment it doesn’t apply anymore we feel the loss thereof. Is it a negative something, it impacts us negatively. Either way, who or what we are just never seems enough.

So how about “I am” ?

I am.

I am.

I – am.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on June 17, 2008.

6 Responses to “The challenge with living in the present”

  1. Colorful Art & words about being mindful of the Now–understood :>

    Short and sweet. Thanks.

  2. Ha! So true! It is challenging… but, think every effort is worthwile… so, I’ll keep trying to at least capture the present now and then.
    =)
    ~smj

    Well put, well put. And I’m going to practise ‘being’. See you down the road of journey.

  3. Being is what it is all about. Being in the now does not mean that we don’t have a past or a future, it simply means that the moment the now is the only real thing there is and by living in the now we are not restricted by the past or the future. Simply being is what being in the now is all about.

    Hey there, glad to see you back! Hm…. reading your lines the word ‘now’ still brings on subtle panick attacks….. I understand what you are saying but just for my personal piece of mind, I’ll leave the ‘now’ out of that context (or translate it into what I can understand). At least until I’ll reach your level of understanding.

  4. The older I get the easier it is to live in the now. Short term memory loss has its advantages.

    If there were a Spaz-club this last comment would have been your entry ticket!

  5. We are always in a state of becoming.

    Love the picture, btw.

    -smith

    Leave it up to you to give me a one sentence summary šŸ˜‰ . Nicely put. And yes, the picture is stunning.

  6. Spaz,
    I think that ‘I am’ is separate from being in the present. To me, the I am, is always with me because it is me, whether thinking, not thinking, in the present, the past or the future. And sometimes I think that people who think they are in the moment are stuck there, not there willingly. But then, that’s me.
    Annie

    See, I think I’m getting old. This whole past, present, future thing is for some odd reason really bothering me, it’s almost as if I had this strange feeling that it doesn’t exist. I know technically they are just a communication tool but still, they nerve me. Call me strange. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
