Life changes

Have to admit, this is a re-post but since I have nothing entertaining to write about and since this is back from the days where nobody read this blog, I think I might get away with it……. ah and thank God it’s now warm enough not to have to bother with socks at all πŸ™‚ .

You can tell that your life is changing when a you find the courage to break a life long habit for no particular reason other than wanting to do things differently. And when I say a lifelong habit, I mean one of those things that we do on a daily basis without spending a second thought (or to be completely frank even first thought) on it, one of those things that we have been taught, been accepted and from then on was left never to be questioned again.

Well, this morning I did. This morning I purposely put on two different socks.

It was difficult and uncomfortable and yet it was one of those obstacles I needed to face in my life. And so I stood there, staring down my naked legs to be confronted with a very black right foot aligned against (oxymoron is intentional) a very blue left foot unable to blame it on an oversight or getting dressed in the dark.

And then I had to say it out loud: β€œI just put on two different socks on purpose and intend to wear them the entire day” . If I had had a bigger audience, I would have gladly raised my voice to announce this marvelous happening, instead the dog just stared back at me. I think it’s fair to say that the entire sock concept is a mystery to her and my undertaking therefore more of an enhancement of that mystery than a surprise.

It’s 5.48pm now and as I glance past my laptop at the unlikely pair, there’s a true sense of satisfaction and accomplishment. And, yes Mum, I’ve been in public like this.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on May 29, 2008.

10 Responses to “Life changes”

  1. : )

    some posts are worth reposting and this is definitely one of those posts! thanks for giving me a chance to read it, xo

  2. First, the photo above is lovely! It amuses me, seeing a pair of feet surrounded by nature. Somehow it gave me a sense of serenity.

    A life long habit. I haven’t lived a 100 years but I have changed. At first it creeps me out. Then I feel renewed. Happy. Strange. Then happy again. And how have I changed? I went and fell in love. Now those around me say “Look at the ice queen. She’s chasing the rainbow.”

    I wonder if one could catch a rainbow really…

  3. its a funny thing… I woke this morning with thoughts of your words… I came to find them… thank you. I believe I have read these words before… either way… it is nice to hear your voice… Have a terrific weekend

    As I mentioned, it’s a regurgitated post. Got more comments this time though πŸ˜‰ . Will be by soon. Hope all is well.

  4. Isn’t it nice?
    I used to do that when I wore socks. (I hate socks now and refuse to wear them.) But when I did, I would soooo wear different kinds, or two that totally did not go with what I was wearing.

    See, I knew you did. If we had met as kids or teens, you would have frightened me to no belief. A kid wearing two different socks confidently is about the most intimidating to a kid as can be. πŸ˜‰

  5. a whimsical side of you we don’t usually see.
    Think I like it.
    Go with the mis-matched socks.
    It matches our lives . . .
    ~m

    Whimsical? Not a word I hear often in relation to myself. Me likes. Goes good with Spaz. The jump from socks to lives I will have to think about a little more…… Thanks for stopping by, always a pleasure to have you.

  6. My daughter wears mismatched socks. I swear she unfolds the pairs to do it, although she claims not. To be honest, I act like it drives me nuts, but I really think she’s kinda cool. lol

    Myself? I prefer barefeet…….

    I’ll encourage my daughter to wear mismatched socks. I swear matched ones screwed up my life to some degree! πŸ˜‰ And yes bare feet are me preference too, as longs as I can still wear them in nice sandals which usually doesn’t happen unless I use Red’s approach to foot care.

  7. thank God I commented . . . πŸ˜‰
    ~m

    He needs to be thanked for a lot a things πŸ˜‰ .

  8. Oh Spaz,
    This is why I love you – and what could be better than wearing two different socks at once? BTW, got your postcard and was so delighted you thought of me. Thanks, sweetie.
    Annie

    Hey there. Glad you got it, couldn’t remember whether I put “USA” on it or not. Too bad they don’t have chocolate cards, but then the mailmen would probably eat them! πŸ˜‰ .

  9. You rebel!!

    πŸ˜‰

    Too funny. I never thought about wearing mis-matched socks… but, have done in by accident. I might have to give it a go on purpose! It sounds…. strangely…. Freeing!

    =)
    ~smj

    Rebel! Now that’s a word to describe myself I haven’t heard in a while. Me likes. And yes, it is freeing. Once you get over the self imposed prison cells that is.

  10. Well, this morning I did. This morning I purposely put on two different socks.

    What can I say? You’re a deep one, Spaz. What’s next? Eating your peas with your butterknife? πŸ˜‰

    smith

    Giggle, you know me, I’m always up to something (deep)……

Leave a Reply

 
