Haven’t laughed and (re-)learned as much in a long time….

When I was sick a few weeks back, I saw this documentary on the annual TED (Technology, Entertainment and Design) conference.

Yesterday I was browsing TED’s website and came across this clip. I am sure many of you have seen this already, as it’s from 2006. Just to warn you, this takes about 20 minutes to watch, having said that, it’s probably the better 20 minutes you’ve watched in a long time.

It’s an ode to creativity, it’s intelligently funny or should I say humorously intelligent? Either way, it got me making a mental note not only about my own grades but those of anybody else, especially should I once have to sign report cards.

Do schools kill creativity?

http://www.ted.com/talks/view/id/66

Let me know what you think!

~ by spasmicallyperfect on May 19, 2008.

2 Responses to “Haven’t laughed and (re-)learned as much in a long time….”

  1. I tried to watch this, and the little bit I saw just left me wanting more. Our internet connection just would not work well enough for it. 😦 He seems to be a great speaker!

    Jennifer

    Too bad you’re having trouble seeing this. It is a very good speech and just as funny. Seems some other’s might have given up on it. Only one other comment.

  2. Oh yeah, I’m sorry to admit it, but they do. I had a great experience working for my school newspaper recently- when the editor returned it to me and I read it, I nearly fell in a dead faint. There was no one single word of truth there and all our illustrations were crossed out. I don’t see how children could develop their creativity in those conditions…

    Welcome DrUid. Well I guess we will have not wait another school generation or two. But good teachers can start to make a difference. As well as parents and anybody coming in touch with children. Creativity will find it’s way to flourish, trouble is, it should flourish more.

Leave a Reply

 
