Simple things


I’ve been looking for simple things.

Simple things that can only be heard when it is quiet.

Simple things that can only be seen when one looks past the big and bold, and takes a second look at what is already there, in plain sight, hiding away beauty by displaying it.

Simple things that have slipped my mind, yet left behind the memory of a joyful heart and the pain of an empty one.

Simple things that nobody talks about.

Simple things that once you’ve made the effort to find one, don’t come in chances but in abundance.

Simple things.

Like
plucking the strings of my guitar that has remained silent for over a year,

Like
realising that I’ve seen hundreds of squirrels yet am still to see a baby squirrel,

Like
pointing out the gorgeous Magnolia tree to a colleague who would have missed it in his tunnel vision

Like
eating lunch at restaurant I’ve never been to before and letting the waitress choose my food

Like
waiting by the front door until my love comes home from work, remembering how I waited for him before our first date

Like
watching my hand write cursive, concentrating not so much on the words I write but each letter, making it perfect

Like
saying goodbye as Orion leaves the night sky, and pulls after him sultry summer evenings

Like
feeling the cool porcelain against my dry lips anticipating the first sip of morning coffee

Like
listening to the sound of my breath.

Simple things.
They make me happy.
Simple, really.

(image by @spasmicallyperfect)

~ by spasmicallyperfect on May 2, 2008.

7 Responses to “Simple things”

  1. this lifted me up as i sit here watching the warm sun cast shadows of beauty across the room … simple things make me happy too. xo

    I know. You have your lens and writing to prove it. 🙂

  2. Really nice and a great reminder to wake up to what is around us every day.

    Yes, reminders are required in this day and age. Sadly?
    Welcome to spasmicallyperfect and thank you for stopping.

  3. listening to sound of my breath ..
    it’s a simple routine, but an amazing one .. I do it, as well.

    A toast to a breath! 😉

  4. The simple things in life are often the best. This is as good as any of the inspirational writing you see in the book stores. Excellent!

    Thank you for your kind words. Guess that’s why I don’t venture into those parts of book stores anymore. Figure my own mind is cheaper. 😉 Thanks for returning, always a pleasure to see you Selma.

  5. Life is often a case of not being able to see the forest for the trees. People are often to busy searching for life that it passes them by. It is all around them but they are to busy looking to notice. People really do never seem to stop and smell the roses. Though I prefer to stop and smell the lilacs.

    Yes, I caught the first hint of lilac myself this morning. Can’t wait until the bushes in my garden are old enough to bloom. Thanks for stopping by Scoundrel.

  6. My Lilac Bush has already started flowering, I love the smell of lilacs. I would rather smell Lilacs than any other flower plus I love the color.

    Maybe it’s because they don’t last long enough for our senses to be satisfied?

  7. Like
    saying goodbye as Orion leaves the night sky, and pulls after him sultry summer evenings

    God, can I relate to this.
    Wonderful words, S, just wonderful.
    ~m

    Even though sultry summer nights are slow this year…. ok, fair enough it ain’t summer yet….. tonight I miss him though. Thanks for stopping by M.

Leave a Reply

 
