Restless

I can feel Spring within me. The skin that covers my body reminds me of worn earth; dried out and tight, poked from deep inside with young life reaching out towards the skies. It’s a painful process in some odd way, no matter how much I anticipated the awakening, it threatens.

Threatens what? I can’t remember feeling that way before. As the big oak tree grows another life line its leafless branches mumble wisely: “You are getting older. Your roots are starting to hold on to who you are becoming, but you’re not used to feeling that way yet. The song of the American Robin still awakes the memories of being carried by the wind, dancing carelessly while discovering new shores. Your spirit soars high and yet you no longer fly the same way. Your purpose stands strong within you even though the early morning breeze still makes you shiver. ”

Torn between what has been and what what will be, I feel fragile. And I think about all that will push through into the sunlight in the next weeks; tinier, more fragile, less experienced. Yes, I’ll be just fine.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on April 3, 2008.

4 Responses to “Restless”

  1. A beautiful picture and a beautiful text!

    Thank you and welcome. Or should I say: Vielen Dank und Willkommen. Herzliche Fruehlingsgruesse nach Deutschland. 🙂

  2. Oh Spaz…. what beautiful images you bring with your words… I too am restless…

    Speaking about ‘restless’, wordpress seems to be restless too….. oh my, having to figure out how to edit a comment and find my way around here this morning takes the mind right off the spring blues 😉 . Thanks for your kind words, and happy growing Enreal! 🙂

  3. Lovely thoughts. I can feel spring in me as well. Although spring around here means lots of hot air and bluster.

    Thanks E. Yes, I can see that too…… 🙂

  4. I know… I am not happy about the whole wordpress change thing either…I liked it before… all things must eventually change I suppose…

    Yes, and the discomfort is good for our brains, even though painful at first. Am feeling better now, have found most of the stuff I need 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
