Thanks for the laughter

 

I caught the tail end of your laughter
Floating in the wind today,
The sweet scent of your lips
Prisoner of endless drift.

I reached out to stroke your hair
Filled with golden rays of sun
Laughing back at you,
In perfect unison.

Ah what a shame it is
That these moments don’t endure
The pain of harsh awakening.
But I’m still thankful.

For what to many may seem
Too little to fill the void
My trembling heart devours
Pushing forward, beat by beat.

I made it home before the rain.
Seems the flowers I left behind
On your eternal ground
Will not go thirsty,
But will live another day.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on March 13, 2008.

7 Responses to “Thanks for the laughter”

  1. I made it home before the rain.
    Seems the flowers I left behind
    On your eternal ground
    Will not go thirsty,
    But will live another day.

    Beautiful. Really nice imagery here. I love the metephor in the stanza I quoted. Nice job, Spaz!

    -smith

    Big words from you Mr. Smith, thank you. Interesting that you found a metaphor in the last part, now the question is, is it the one I intended or did you come up with one I didn’t even think about….. e-mail me, I’m curious.

  2. My trembling heart devours. You made me cry again. Your master of the craft of imagery still amazes and pleases me Spaz. Beautiful. 🙂

    Thank you Alison. Now you only need to teach me sonnets…… 😉

  3. Beautiful! Love it. Thank you.

    Thank you my dear…… 🙂

  4. “prisoner of endless drift” a most perfect line and one of which I am quite jealous.

    Lovely, my dear.
    Annie

    Thank you Annie. Don’t be jealous, just buy me a drink! 😉

  5. sigh, gorgeous!

    Thank you D. 🙂

  6. interesting that you found a metaphor in the last part, now the question is, is it the one I intended or did you come up with one I didn’t even think about….. e-mail me, I’m curious.

    e-mail on the way. eventually.

    -smith

    Looking forward to ‘eventually’ 🙂

  7. I didn’t cry reading this but I must say that the words seem to fit ‘spasmically’ perfect.
    It’s in the connection of them that you reach people.
    Very, very nice. As always.
    ~m

    While reading your lines (thank you very much) I just had this thought: One has to be able to reach inside oneself before one can dream of reaching others. Because it’s inside were we speak the same language.

Leave a Reply

 
