Freezing cold and logical consequences

 

Some of you might remember my ‘red duffle coat’ post a while back. Well, I have to admit, as much as I love that coat, it isn’t quite enough to keep me warm when the minus 20 celcius wind chill hits. For those days I prefer my ‘sausage’ coat.

It’s one of those long brown down coats with a hood. Now, it only took me 2 years to find one that didn’t send a horror screech from my mirror image. Sexy is still not the adjective I’d use when wearing my sausage, however at least I don’t look like the Michelin Man.

Or so I thought. This morning I was walking along a reflective glass wall of one of the major bank buildings when in the corner of my eye, I caught my reflection. Ouch! 

It seems that by wearing my backpack the feathers on the top back felt too squished and moved towards the front. The feathers in the arms didn’t seem to agree with my energetic arm swinging when walking and moved out of the arms. Since in the back it seemed too squished, they moved to the front. The feathers at the bottom of the coat must have gotten tired of being kicked around by my walking legs and guess what, moved north, yes, to the front. And so, my warm sausage coat has now turned into a cloth with growth, making it seem like if I swallowed the entire Xmas turkey whole. If you are getting a visual, try harder, you’re not done yet!

I had two options this morning, cringe in shame and bear hugging the bulge or laughing all the way down to the belly. I decided to go for the latter, thinking if I laughed hard enough the feathers might decide that they were better off were they originally came from.

Well, it didn’t quite work. Will have to try steam rolling this evening………

~ by spasmicallyperfect on January 24, 2008.

4 Responses to “Freezing cold and logical consequences”

  1. oh my … eek, tee hee

    when it gets as cold as it is slated to get in the next couple of days, all my fashion sense goes out the window … i don’t care if all they can see is my eyes peeking through layers, so long as i’m warm … and its supposed to get -20 something without the windchill on monday, am hoping for the warmth of the michelin man, tee hee

    Fashion sense? What exactly is that? I think it might that thing that my mother spent a lot of energy and money teaching me and I one day threw overboard deciding that it just didn’t go deep enough. (Having said that, I do pull it back in again for those rare occasions where it becomes advantageous). Same bottom line here, I’d rather be warm and gorgeous than cold and gorgeous! 🙂

  2. Keep the laughter as well my friend. It will help to solve any situation while we’re working on it.

    I’ve come to where I cannot wear constricting clothing – even to the point of not being able to button a long sleeve shirt at the arms. Not because I am too large (I’m known as tiny) but I just feel … like I’m compressed and I get claustrophobic in much clothing so I go for layers these days and it works for me.

    You’ll find the right coat. It will appear in your life at the exactly right time.

    Peace and blankies warmed in the dryer.

    Hello Ms Shooz. Yes I agree, laughter is a good thing (albeit embarrassing at times 😉 ) and solutions do come easier without the frustration blockage. I hope you live in a warm place as when I’m cold it can’t be snug enough. Love “Silk’s” long sleeve shirts, they are just the bet and sooooooo comfy. And re coat, for this season my poor bulged sausage will do. Next year I’ll hopefully be a bit more grown up and lady like and will get a ‘proper’ coat (yeah right 🙂 ).

    Thanks for the visit, as always, and the warmed blanky wishes. Your way too.

  3. I think it’s a case for “Canada Goose” or at least a “Woolrich”

    How did I know that you’d answer that????? Yes, obviously I am keeping my eyes open for sales of 95% off! 😉

  4. I have a jacket like that too. Whose cares about fashion sense at these freezing temperatures, sometimes just plain sense in necessary! My pet peeve are those coats that *crinkle*….. It’s like fingernails on a blackboard.

    Jennifer

    Ouch, yes, crinkling isn’t good. And re freezing, today is very bad, WINDCHILL…….

Leave a Reply

 
