Happy New Year

 

I don’t think there could have been a more perfect start to a New Year than the one I woke up to this morning. Winter had painted a fresh white surface over the world and as I stepped outside mine were the first foot prints in the snow. Isn’t that what we often dream of when January 1 rolls around; a new start, a new blank sheet to create our lives on, who we are and what we do, what we look like and what we’d like our personal history to read?

Also – being a writer with another fulltime, full paying job, blank sheets represent opportunities, endles possibilities of stories, accounts, imagination, creativity. Some people might say that blank sheets or nowadays blank computer screens with nervously ticking cursors that represent the amount of time that we haven’t taken advantage of, intimidate them.  But as I stood there this morning in the white, quiet, peaceful winter scene, where no man had been before me and no cars directed where I could and could not walk, it reminded me of that familiar feeling of having to fill empty lines.

I don’t have to do anything. I can just stand there and look or listen to the silence, until sooner of later something appears on the horizon. Or if I want I can pick up some snow, realise that it’s perfect snow ball snow and start shaping them, as round and as big as I please, I can throw them and see them leave a hole in the cotton blanket, I can make them explode against the house wall, I can make the lamp post my challenging target or I can stack them up into a pyramid and later place a tea light under it to iluminate the way. Maybe I don’t feel like snow balls at all, maybe I feel more like making snow elephant angels (which is basically the same as a snow angel, with the difference that my bum always creates a perfectly visible crater within my angel 😉 ). 

Perfect. Seems like life is on board with my plans for this year and with this change in weather whispers: The canvas is yours to paint however you choose to.

Wishing you all a New Year, may it be happy when it needs to be, but more importantly may it be yours to paint.  

~ by spasmicallyperfect on January 1, 2008.

3 Responses to “Happy New Year”

  1. Oh Spaz,
    You make me want snow – even as we speak it is a perfect 70 degrees outside, more like a spring day than winter. The blank canvas is seductive indeed, and I’ve no doubt you will paint your words across it in your own perfect style. Happy New Year, my friend.
    Annie

    Annie, Annie. I’m so incredibly late in answering this comment, it’s disgusting. Forgive me and I’ve already wished you a Happy New Year!

  2. How’s the new year starting off for you so far?

    Continues to be a little too busy for my liking (one ages faster this way), however I did know that January and February were going to be this way. Looking forward to more breathing space (and energy) once Spring hits. Thanks for stopping by Kim. Always a pleasure. 🙂

  3. Dear Spaz, once again, you managed to inspire me. Happy New Year my beloved friend! These thoughts of yours are as refreshing as the snow you stepped on, on that 1st day of January. May this year bring you peace, love, health and continuous inspiration. Looking forward seeing you soon.

    Pascal

    Thank you my dear. Have a feeling this year will rock for you too. Have to get together. Soon.

Leave a Reply

 
