Why?

 

Life moves at odd paces at times

Or maybe it’s just us humans

Getting stuck all the time

When life surprises us by being life

Like when people get sick, die –

Or when things don’t go our way.

I look at everything else that lives

Other than human and wonder

Why we were chosen to have feelings,

Why we were chosen to be aware.

I’ve never seen an ant sitting on a stone,

By himself, with a hanging head,

Worrying, lamenting, grieving

Over 3 lost friends, crushed by a big foot.

Ants are always busy, they just continue on.

All of a sudden, those tiny creatures seem a lot stronger, wiser.

And yet it’s our brain that is the developed one.

Obviously, we were meant to be this way.

The everlasting question remains –

Why?

~ by spasmicallyperfect on November 20, 2007.

4 Responses to “Why?”

  1. This tickles my brain. I keep finding myself coming back to it at odd times, over and over, around and around again.

    You say we were chosen to be aware and to have feelings, but according to the bible, (not that I’m a big bible person, so bear with me) it was humankind that made that choice. Way back when, in the Garden of Eden, when Adam and Eve ate from the tree of knowledge. If you believe in the myth, they chose for humankind to have the same knowledge as the great Creator. So I suppose, if they hadn’t done that, would we all be the same as the ants?

    Interesting aspect. Have to ponder that one a little more.

  2. I love your blog. Thanks I find it very inspiring.

    Thank you so much for your kind words A. Come by anytime. SP

  3. I often wonder these exact questions. Why? why do we have to feel, why do we have to carry on, what is the purpose? Our lives, our time? Sometimes I do wish I were something other than human. A bird, free to fly, a cat, free to be. Something without awareness. But then comes the ultimate reality, we are blessed to this pain, we are blessed into feeling. Some of us feel and wonder more than tohers, it is we, we who feel this pain, we will be enlightened, we will understand why!!

    Thank you for this, it made me think and I reaffirmed some of my worries in responding and analyzing our worries.

    Hey Enreal. I am glad you liked it. Seems many others didn’t know what to do with it. Reading your lines, you caught my intention. Be well, S.

  4. I was once asked what animal I’m most like. I said an ant because they can take nothing and make something out of it and so can I. They are certainly hard working always pressing forward as you said. And no, you won’t see an ant hang its head and lament the death of three friends. You’ll see him carry them one by one, never leaving a brother behind 🙂

    Always a pleasure here. I always enjoy your writing.
    Austin

    Austin! Good to see you as always. Glad you answered this post in particular. Thank you for entertaining my thoughts. Be well…… and warm season wishes your way.

Leave a Reply

 
