Monday morning waste

Caught myself today walking up a crowded sidewalk, Monday morning close to 9, with a cloud of ‘work’ over my head. I was rushing. Not out of necessity but out of habit. Despite having taken an earlier train, despite having worked the whole Saturday, despite having spent my entire Train ride setting up a presentation. I was walking faster then my heels felt comfortable with. All around me, more people like me. Rushing. Speeding. Honking.

How ridiculous! Here we are, like ants, streaming towards office towers. We don’t look left, we don’t look right, in fact, I don’t think we see anything at all, our heads in clouds of work.

It’s a beautiful day, it’s going to be 26 degrees Celcius, the remaining leafs dancing golden in the pale blue sky.

I stop. I stop to look. I stop to breathe, really breathe.

Stupid, absolutely stupid! As more people rush past me, pushing me, grumbling about my nerve to stop in the middle of a sidewalk (hence the name I guess), it seems that every person who passes is a lost moment that will never return. Worst of all, nobody seems to notice.

Except a row of pigeons sitting on a fence lining the side walk. All they do is sit and watch the ants.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on October 22, 2007.

2 Responses to “Monday morning waste”

  1. Mondays are tough. I find myself scurrying endlessly about as well, only I’m inside the anthill where the pigeons can’t find me.

    Hope your week improves. Have some chocolate.

    Jennifer

    Thanks for the good wishes and advice Jennifer. Yes, I got over my ‘sarcastic’ moment. 🙂

  2. So pigeons are smarter than we are, hmm? Sounds that way.

    Well, that morning it definitely seemed that way 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
