‘How being locked out of the house can be a good thing’ or ‘Introducing Serena Ryder’.

I don’t forget my keys often. Infact it might happen 2 or 3 times a year. The strange thing is that those 2 or 3 times ALWAYS coincide with those evenings where my hubby ends up being caught up at work. And so last week I 0nce more found myself sitting in my backyard after 8pm spending the evening in a fabulous ‘nothing to do, nowhere to go’ situation.

Thankfully it was a warm and dry evening. I turned on the the yard lights and stretched out on the Garden furniture. Thankfully my cell phone battery was fully charged and since it doubles as a Radio, I started to surf the channels in search of something stimulating.  Then I stumbled onto the beginning of a live broadcast of Serena Ryder performing at Hugh’s room.

I hadn’t heard of her before but it only took one song to know that I’d never forget the name nor her voice. Her a cappella version of “Melancholy Blue” caught my attention right from the first notes and I remained stunned and in awe for the remainder of her performance.

It might have been song choice, it might have been the quiet and dark night, the fact that I had nothing else to do than just listen but I don’t think so. She’s got a distinctive soul that speaks through her voice, her song interpretation, a sound of  something new that instantly makes you feel at home and leaves you humbly shivering and addicted. Listening to her sing breaks down life’s complexities into one moment; sitting below a clear, endless night sky littered with stars, while wrapped in the arms of warm beauty.

 I rarely buy music. But I am going out to buy her new album on Monday. It will be worth every Penny.

If attached the link to the ‘concert on demand’ that I listened to that night. She’s can also be found on YouTube, however if you don’t know her yet, I’d suggest to close your eyes and just listen to her sing.

http://www.cbc.ca/radio2/codPlayer.html?/radio2/media/20070328seren/all.asx#Serena%20Ryder|All%20Tracks

~ by spasmicallyperfect on October 21, 2007.

One Response to “‘How being locked out of the house can be a good thing’ or ‘Introducing Serena Ryder’.”

  1. i am entranced … thank you : )

    Glad you liked it. I did end up buying the CD and I am enjoying it very much. Great to have as background music too.

Leave a Reply

 
