Morning prayer

 (Picture by http://www.islandgroveart.com/gallery-1.htm . Please visit Gail Young’s amazing Water Colour Paintings)

Morning prayer 
 

Shallow clouds frame the sky
Slowly fading to blue.
White sunlight reaching down,
Tickling sleepy senses.

I fold my hands and kneel
Below the newborn day
And with closed eyes listen
To the wind’s soft whistle.

Copyright @ Spasmicallyperfect 

~ by spasmicallyperfect on October 11, 2007.

6 Responses to “Morning prayer”

  1. so beautiful and softly descriptive .. and what a beautiful watercolour, off to see more 🙂

    Hope you enjoyed them! And thanks for the kind words.

  2. *sigh*
    Such lovely imagery. I wish I could smell that bread.

    Guess my writing wasn’t good enough 😉 I’ll try to do better next time, with flavours! 🙂

  3. This is really good! This is why you have over 100,000 hits.

    Keep it up!

    -smith

    That’s a step up from ‘interesting’. I’ll take that 😉 .

  4. “I fold my hands and kneel
    Below the newborn day”

    Love it!
    WC

    Thank you Annie. I like that one too. 🙂

  5. Why do I think the first two verses are very good and the last two less so. Should I dare to disagree with the experts.Ok, so I don’t know too much about poetry.
    By the way “Charlie” will never do with racing green,it most definately has to be “charles”
    Diru

    I agree, was struggling with them myself. I am not sure I’m made for this structured poetry thing, at least being as busy as I find myself to be, I don’t seem to have the necessary patience either. But I posted it to see whether some of my talented friends came up with some change suggestions……

    And re Charlie, well, I know the add said British racing green but in the end he turned out to be blue, so I am sticking with “Charlie”.

  6. I really like the warmth this resonated.
    It’s nice.
    kim

    Thank you Kim. You’re better at this kind of writing, but I’ll take the nice with a smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
