Interview with a tree

Anybody who has watched me walk outside will probably have noticed that I have this thing for trees. There are two things that move me; one of them are whales which make me cry whether I see them on TV or live or even when I hear their songs. The other thing are trees as they always seem to comfort me. I haven’t been able to explain why this is the way it is. A healer once told me that in a previous life I used to be some sort of Nature Goddess. Although it sounds rather nice, I am not I am convinced of that. But then, I can’t rule it out either and so it is one of those things that I remain impartial towards.

Anyway, I’ll leave the whale story for now and will focus on the trees. Annie over at “Writerchick’s” has offered me a post subject and I have decided to take her up on it.

“Interview the most beautiful tree you know”.

That in itself is a task, for I wouldn’t be able to decide which one is most beautiful tree. But let us not focus on the obstacles. I have chosen one of the big Maple trees in Oosgoode Park as I walk past it every business day.

Q: How are you today?
A: Just splendid my dear, there’s a nice breeze up in a sky and last night’s refreshing rain is still hanging onto my leafs.
Q: Do you know that you make me smile every morning I walk past you?
A: Of course I do, your whole body smiles. But it’s not just me who triggers it, it’s this whole park, for I can see you from afar. You smile the moment you walk through the gates. It never fails, even your way of walking changes, you instantly relax. You’re not the only one to do so, but you are the only one on Monday mornings.
Q: You’re right. I love this place. Tell me, how long have you been here?
A: 20,230,715 leafs long.
Q: Can you convert that into human years?
A: Yes, but why would I? Human time is in my humble opinion a very silly way of measuring things.
Q: Yes, but what else could we measure?
A: Well, I guess that’s something that you guys will have to figure out, after all, I am only a tree and can only speak for trees.
Q: Do you have feelings?
A: Yes, but they are different then yours.
Q: How?
A: That’s going to be difficult to explain. It’s in the breath, in the energy. Just as we filter the air, we filter the feelings, the energy. So for example, if you are happy while you walk past me that energy will bounce off towards me and I’ll feel good. If you are feeling angry, it too will bounce towards me and I won’t feel as good.
Q: Really?
A: Well very simplified of course. And you by yourself are more like a tickle in a few leafs because of course there are so many more people’s energy that I pick up, and that of other living beings, plants, animals etc.
Q: What do you think about humans?
A: They are humans, they have a bigger and more advanced brain then any other leaving species. Having said that, they are severely limited in other ways.
Q: What other ways?
A: They are incapable of keeping things simple. And they take themselves way too seriously. Every other being has accepted their role in this world, except for the Human. Since they’ve arrived, they have been trying to change things, not let hit happen naturally, no – force it. They need to hang on to an illusion that they are in control of their lives and deaths for that matter. Over the years it has gotten worse. They seem to be ok with other things dying or even killing them, but somehow they don’t see themselves as part of this world as a living creature anymore. There is a much bigger force, that only few humans recognise. And in my humble opinion, Humans are missing out on a lot because they no longer feel that force.
Q: Are you speaking of God?
A: Yes, I guess that would be one of the names you guys have come up with. Although even that, you’ve turned from something simple into something complicated. And it still amuses me that you mostly see itΒ as some shape of living being, like ifΒ it were some Super human. Ah – wouldn’t it be nice to turn you all into trees, so that you’d actually have nothing else to do then stand in one spot. You’d have no way not to feel it. But then, you were supposed to be human and therefore it is not my place to wish you to be anything else.
Q: So there is a reason for us being here?
A: Yes.
Q: Which is what?
A: Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhh, now that is a question I can’t answer. I am a tree and know my purpose. It’s up to you to figure out your purpose. But I am sure it’s not to invent as many ways possible to destroy nature and life. If that had been the plan, I for example wouldn’t have been here in the first place.
Q: Do you laugh?
A: Of course, all the time.
Q: What makes you laugh?

A: Well, for one I am ticklish and every time the wind comes by, I have thousands of leafs tickling my skin. But I can’t be mad at them, for I need the wind to spread my seeds and I need the leafs to fulfill my purpose.
Q: Anything else, you want me to know?
A: Yes, lots, but we’ll have lots of time to chat some more, right?
Q: Right. Thanks and have a wonderful day or whatever you might call it.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on October 3, 2007.

6 Responses to “Interview with a tree”

  1. Oh Spaz,
    I knew you could do this and do it beautifully. I believe you are the only person I know who can speak and understand the language of trees. Thanks for doing this, it was sweet, lovely, amusing, silly and fun.

    A++++++++ on your assignment.

    Annie

    Thanks for the assignment, it was an A+++++++++ assignment πŸ˜‰

  2. I loved it too.

    Thanks Diru. I think you should paint a conversation with a tree, I know it would be terrific! πŸ™‚

  3. I loved that, as I, too, love trees!

    Thank you Lolly, and welcome to the club. πŸ™‚

  4. very well done! you really managed to get into the spirit of the tree and speaking through it. I also have this thing for trees and their branches. They are so beautiful, powerful and varied.
    Thank you!

    Thank you M. I am glad you liked it. Seems there are many ‘tree’-people out there πŸ™‚

  5. Perfect. I need to go out and talk to some of the trees we have on our property now but I’m a bit afraid they may get on my case for not coming out and thinning the trees so the others could grow bigger and stronger.

    I think after reading this post I might just go interview – or talk to one anyway.

    Peace and trees.

    ~ RS ~

    I don’t think they’ll reprimand you for not thinning them, after all they were here long before we were and I think they still go with ‘survival of the fittest’ πŸ˜‰ .

    And although in this interview I was forced to ‘talk’ to them I find if you just sit and listen, they’ll talk to you. πŸ™‚

  6. I loved this. I can see the great spirit in which you speak in. You are more connected to what the world is about than most people I know including myself. Thanks for sharing that with us.

    The Spokesman

    I am glad you enjoyed this (not to mention the fact that you actually read through the whole thing πŸ™‚ ). Your words are very kind. Sometimes we just need to be reminded. There is no ‘more’ or ‘less’, there’s only what we decide to focus on. At least that’s my thought.

Leave a Reply

 
