Striders

 

I came across this poem by Howard Nemerov and just absolutely love it. Thinking you might like it too, I am posting it here. Wish I could write like this.  

The little striders are so light and lean
They can walk atop the water’s thinnest skin,
The surface tension that seals and varnishes
The table of the shallow-running stream
Supports their insubstantial shapes just as
In sunlight the sandy or stony floor beneath
Supports the quincunx of their abstract shadows,

But with the one and mortal difference that
Like mariners also committed to the deep
They cannot swim; putting a foot down wrong
Or hammered under in a heavy rain,
Caught in a breaking weather, they will drown.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on August 28, 2007.

5 Responses to “Striders”

  1. oh my ~ this is fabulous!! thank you for sharing his poetry, this beautiful poem ….

    Welcome my dear, anytime.

  2. The picture helped a lot in making the reader understand what is described by the poem. But then again, I really wonder what would my impression of the poem be if I have not seen the picture.

    Great descriptive poem. Thanks for sharing.

    I wish you well ~ Jeques

    Welcome Jeques. And you are right, I fell in love with the poem without the picture. I didn’t know the English word ‘strider’ but with the lines it was absolutely clear what Nemerov was talking about. And having marveled at those creatures before, he’s so accurate.

  3. How can you write so well. I am so jealous. will you teach me?

    Just to confirm, other than the entry line, I did NOT write this. It’s that I’d like to be able to write like this.

  4. I found this poem interesting. Sorry for my absence. It’s been very hectic around here.
    Hope you’re well. Will touch base soon.
    Kim

    Hey there stranger. No worries about absences, they make the heart grow fonder 🙂 . I am well, thank you. Hope hectic means exciting rather then stressful. Until later, Spaz

  5. How often do you yourself swim and what stroke or do you just write about it?

    Can I ask though – how did you get this picked up and into google news?

    Very impressive that this blog is syndicated through Google and is it something that is just up to Google or you actively created?

    Obviously this is a popular blog with great data so well done on your seo success..

    Swimming greats you should write about next, my ex was an olympic swimmer!

Leave a Reply

 
