My thoughts on inspiration and miracles

I’ve been writing for a long time. At the beginning, heart break was my muse and heart break was all I wrote about. Eventually I learned how to finish heart break stories on a happy note, but the subject hadn’t really changed.

One day, walked into my life, a special someone who showed me that I was more than that, more then a casing carrying a broken heart. Loving me, he broke my heart, and broke it good this time. But then something happened, suprisingly, I heard another sound.

I heard the beating, that powerful pulse of life that every one of us holds inside, the true heart, the one that cannot be broken, our heart, life’s heart. Since then, it seems inspiration has taken a hold of me, for good.

Today as I write about a moth on a train, it amazes me how many things are inspiring in life, if we just choose to honour them with our attention for a moment. Everyone loves butterflies, whereas moths hide on walls and startle us in inappropriate moments. Maybe those moments aren’t inappropriate, maybe they hold miracles, and if inappropriate moments can hold miracles, then any moment can.

As I wonder about the moth hiding above the LED advertisement bar, I imagine how far he’ll travel today, whether he realizes that this is not what moths are meant to do. And yet, why not, even moths can be Jonathan Seagulls. My thoughts weave a story. Isn’t that what miracles are? Discovered stories?

~ by spasmicallyperfect on July 18, 2007.

7 Responses to “My thoughts on inspiration and miracles”

  1. It is a rarity to find someone who looks at the smaller things in life, that is where the amazement of life lies, in between the dimensions of life.

    I am sorry to hear of your sorrows, “That which not kills us makes us stronger”-Friedrich Nietzsche

    Khalil Gibran wrote “The deeper that sorrow carves into your being, the more joy you can contain.

    ON JOY AND SORROW

    Then a woman said, “Speak to us of Joy and Sorrow.”

    And he answered:

    Your joy is your sorrow unmasked.

    And the selfsame well from which your laughter rises was
    oftentimes filled with your tears.

    And how else can it be?

    The deeper that sorrow carves into your being, the more
    joy you can contain.

    Is not the cup that holds your wine the very cup that was
    burned in the potter’s oven?

    And is not the lute that soothes your spirit, the very wood
    that was hollowed with knives?

    When you are joyous, look deep into your heart and you shall
    find it is only that which has given you sorrow that is giving you joy.

    When you are sorrowful look again in your heart, and you shall see
    that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your delight.

    Some of you say, “Joy is greater than sorrow,” and others say,
    “Nay, sorrow is the greater.”

    But I say unto you, they are inseparable.

    Together they come, and when one sits alone with you at your
    board, remember that the other is asleep upon your bed.

    Verily you are suspended like scales between your sorrow
    and your joy.

    Only when you are empty are you at standstill and balanced.

    When the treasure-keeper lifts you to weigh his gold and his silver,
    needs must your joy or your sorrow rise or fall.

  2. Sorry for the long reply…

    Never apologise for spending time with me. Thank you for sharing all those thoughts….. thanks for reminding me of those words once read but then forgotten.

  3. I wonder who that might be? hummm…. Damn heart breaker. What I admire in you, like enreal just wrote, is your ability to turn small meaningless things (if we don’t pay attention) and turn them into meaningful part of life beauty. I thank you for that.

    Welcome my dear. Don’t focus on the heart breaker, it is really I who break my own heart when that happens, thank God I am not powerful enough 😉

  4. Someone told me a long time back that its only when your heart is broken that you can know what is inside. I guess you found the strength and wonder of your true heart within 🙂
    Take care…

    I absolutely love the imagery of that thought! Thanks for sharing and yes, I think I’d agree.

  5. i read this and i stood up and clapped ~ i really did, i know i’m a dork but there it is ~ i was thinking this very thing the other day, how i used to write only the sorrow and angst of my life, the heart break but now that my heart has fully broken and am able to see the beauty in that, the joy, the mend ~ well, i really enjoy my writing more and maybe its because i really enjoy my life more …

    anyway, i loved this 🙂

    Ah, seems there’s company in this. Seems there’s hope 😉 .

  6. Your works are full of life. And often the life involves the roses of life that people overlook, discount or pass by in a hurry.

    The great thing is, that can be changed really easily, all one needs to do is stop, look and listen.

  7. This is why I love you, Spaz. You always remind us that there are miracles everywhere we turn, if we will only look for them.
    Annie

    Thanks Annie. I guess that’s a good reason for bugging people 😉

Leave a Reply

 
