Only two of us

Remember the night
we sat below the moon
as if there only existed
the three of us?

Today,
Only two of us remain,
and as I dance
beneath the gentle light,
I catch the moon’s tear
filling my heart
with sorrow.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on July 16, 2007.

10 Responses to “Only two of us”

  1. Oh gosh.
    That went from so happy to so sad
    so quickly.
    VERY good spaz

    B

    Yes, that’s life…. great that it can swing back just as fast, even though I sometimes wonder whether we humans are capable of recognising that as well……

  2. Beautiful, yet sorrowful though…

    Very nice piece – love the picture!

    Hawk

    Thank you. Yes, like so many things, they start out one way and end another. And yet – beauty somehow always remains.

  3. What’s the matter?! Where is the fish with the big eyes now? Beautiful piece and love picture too!
    Thank you being who you are and what you do.

    Thank you my dear, thanks for recognising who I am and what I do. Re fish, haha, you’re right, he’d fit right in, see him swimming in below the moon ? πŸ˜‰ . By the way did I even say thank you?

  4. this caught in my throat
    and lingers in my mind

    beautiful

    yes, a little like the simple thought that inspired this……

  5. simple but true. Impressive

    thanks my dear, I try πŸ˜‰

  6. These lines will come to my mind every time i watch the moon from now on ….it is a wonderful poem.

    Oh oh….. I hope they don’t make you sad…. the moon is wonderful and a very good friend (if you believe in things like that of course πŸ˜‰ )

  7. This is a beautiful poem. I do not understand the inspiration behind the poem, but I can place those words into my life. I guess that is the sign of great writing. Universality. Very good. thank you ~Amanda

    Thank you Amanda. Yes, I think that’s the case with any writer/poet. We can only assume what his/her intention/inspiration was but what we do know is how it affects us. Thanks for coming by.

  8. No no, they don’t make me sad…..i do share a special bond with the moon and the stars..so πŸ™‚

    Thanks for clarifying, makes me feel better πŸ™‚ .

  9. This is making me really sad but it’s beautifully written.

    Yes, but the the best sadness is the one found in beauty.

  10. one good thing about befriending the moon:

    while it may not always brighten your evening, it’ll never stand you up!

    Welcome KT! Smile, I like your thought on befriending the moon, yes it’s true.

Leave a Reply

 
