Chasing sleep

Some nights
I count the waves
the moon paints
on my bedsheets
and drown
in yesterday’s raging waters
until
my window can’t hold
the circle of light anymore
leaving me surrounded by
nothing but darkness.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on July 12, 2007.

3 Responses to “Chasing sleep”

  1. Incredibly beautiful.

    The moonlight is such an amazing tool for imagery, and you have used it so well. This one really is an excellent poem.

    Thank you R. I love the moon(light). I’d choose the moon over the sun any night ๐Ÿ˜‰ . At times I think I am addicted, give me a moon and I’ll wander into another world.

  2. spaz,
    isn’t it amazing how writers seem to share the same singular thoughts and experiences, even when they’ve never met? i find real comfort in that.
    sarah

    I think that’s just you and I, seems like we’ve had some common ancestors way back ๐Ÿ˜‰ .

  3. The most beautiful description of thought, loneliness, serenity, quiet, calm, uncertainty…I could go on and on…Spaz..just wonderful. Alison

    Thank you Alison…… I like how you saw serenity in their, because I think that’s what always prevails…..

Leave a Reply

 
