Happy Father’s day Dad!

As I was trying to write a new Dad Poem, the lines just wouldn’t flow. It was as if I had said what a poem could hold already. Maybe today wasn’t the day for it.  And I know that my dad doesn’t fit into one poem. Maybe it’s because I couldn’t ignore how I felt when I wrote below lines a few months back. Hope you don’t mind me posting it again.

Alles Gueti zum Vater Tag Papi. Und hoffentlich uf gli….. 

As strange as it seems, you’re my first memory,
Sitting on your arm, my head leaning against your chest,
You were thin back then and still had hair,
I remember loving your voice, it was rough and strong,
And yet I could always hear your heart in it,
Your big heart, the one few people see,
I knew it was there from the very beginning.
Raised by four women to be a man, you turned out a hero,
The unmistaken father figure, the main provider,
The man who didn’t have all the money in the world,
But gave me what I needed.
You were always there to welcome me home
Whether it was from a field trip,
A Saturday night out in the big city
Or another flight discovering the world,
You were always waiting for me,
To pick me up from any adventure,
I never had to ask, not once in 30 years.
“Welcome back kiddo, did you have a good time?”
I know you won’t be able to go on forever,
I won’t see your waving hand wherever I arrive.
Still I know you’ll make it there somehow because you’re you
and you’ve never missed me coming home.
I love you Dad.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on June 17, 2007.

5 Responses to “Happy Father’s day Dad!”

  1. Very sweet.
    Sounds like a lucky guy to have a daughter like you.
    Did he get to read this?
    I hope so.
    ~m

    Well, whether he is lucky or not, that you would have to ask him. I know I am lucky to have him as my dad. I don’t know whether he read this on father’s day but I do know he saw it the first time I posted it. So, yes.

  2. How wonderful to have such a close relationship with a parent. I hope you and your father both enjoyed father’s Day to the fullest.
    Hugs,
    Jennifer
    <em>

    Actually, some might argue I have the closer relationship with my mother, but it’s true, although my father and I never had the kind of conversations I’ve had with my Mum, in many ways I didn’t need to hear him say or do things, to recognise him for who is is and how he feels about me. Unfortunately my father lives across the ocean and due to the time difference I didn’t get a hold of him on father’s day this time. On the bright side, I just came back from visiting my parents and so, it was great to see them/him. </em>

  3. so beautiful!!

    Thank you very much!

  4. That was great Spaz. Just beautiful. It deserved a reposting.
    Annie

    Thanks Annie, yes, I think in this case, there wasn’t really another option that sat well with me…….

  5. Don’t worry nobody noticed it was Fathers Day this side of the ocean.Somehow it’s not celebrated here.The poem was lovely,maybe it could be translated, then we could start Dad’s day in Switzerland.
    Diru

    Yes, I know, I’ll have to do a german version, started but didn’t sound as good for some reason. Thanks Diru.

Leave a Reply

 
