Conversations

You are perfect.
Remember when I told you that,
Years ago, and every day since?
But you still don’t always believe me.
You try to, some days you succeed.
But deep down you don’t believe me,
For if a storm comes your way,
It tips you over and then you are back in my arms
Searching for the comfort you can’t give yourself.
I let you cry, I let you rage, I let you hide
Until the waves pass and you become calmer,
“I hate myself!”
“No, you don’t.”
“I’m a looser!”
“You’re perfect”, I respond.
And then I know you’re on your way,
It won’t be long until –
There:
“I AM perfect”,
Accompanied by your faint and beautiful smile.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on May 8, 2007.

3 Responses to “Conversations”

  1. Your stuff is so refreshing.
    Austin

    Hey Austin! Your visits feel like a friend popping in to say hi. Hope all as well in your world…… actually, I better go see what you’ve been up to. See you there……

  2. This sounds so sincere and self soul searching. Sounds like something I’d say to a friend to comfort them.

    🙂 …… you made it again…… good one! Re your comment: are you your own friend too? 😉

  3. I can’t tell if you’re talking about a friend or your child. Sometimes I feel I’m peeking into your private heart when I read you. It’s nice.
    WC

    Hm….. maybe it’s meant to be left open for interpretation….. even ‘your child’ could have two meanings, a physical child or my ‘inner’ child…….. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
