Shadows in your eyes

 

It’s not just the flickering candle light
That causes shadows in your caring eyes tonight
And I wonder why the days are no longer
Where the truth just made us stronger.
You do not lie out of respect
But then I wish you would detect
That I still love you enough to hear
Anything that you might fear.
Why can’t I tell you without feeling
That somehow I am stealing
What once came so naturally
Between you and me?

~ by spasmicallyperfect on April 25, 2007.

3 Responses to “Shadows in your eyes”

  1. Nice rhyme, your words are always so visual. I really admire that about you as a writer. Great job, kim

    Thank you Kim. I had two versions of this, one rhymed the other didn’t. Still not sure which one is better…..

  2. Very wistful and somewhat mysterious. These are the types of poems that make me wonder about your past, Spaz. 😉
    WC

    Well, I guess there’s always the question whether it’s from the past, or from a imaginary world that might just be found in reality. And sometimes I start out based on something completely external but when I am done, I find a piece of myself in it. Afterall, that’s what we do, no?
    (Or maybe you’ll just have to buy me that drink (probably more then one) and then you might gain insight into my ‘shady’ past 😉 )

  3. I really like the poem. I can’t really put words to it but there’s something about it that I can identify with.
    It’s a lovely poem. 🙂

    thank you so much. I am glad you liked it, even if you can identify with parts of it.

Leave a Reply

 
