Reflection

“But there most be more to life”
She said, unconfidently pleading,
“there has to be……no?”

She sat there with sunken in shoulders
Her bare feet dangling in the river
And premature tears in her eyes.

There was nothing left to say,
For I had said it all and remaining silent
I smiled at her.

She watched her reflection in the water,
While I asked myself who she saw,
And why my eyes saw differently.

I hugged her and got up to go,
Taking the reflection with me
But leaving her behind.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on March 6, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
