A girl’s last request

 

The following story I overheard a few weeks ago. I have changed the names.

“There were so many unforgettable moments in Rebecca’s short life. Like this one time, I was running a bit early for my daily visit at the hospital, and so as I arrived outside her door, I heard her talking to someone. I didn’t want to interrupt and so I hesitated for a moment before entering.

“I know we wanted to see places, but God has another plan for me and so we can’t go together. Don’t be sad, it’s ok. I need you to do something really important for me though. Mum and Dad and Jenn are going to be really sad and I need you too take care of them and make them laugh like you make me laugh all the time. They won’t admit they’ll need to be taken care of and therefore we have to trick them a little. I will ask them to take care of you, but in actual fact you’ll be taking care of them”. There was silence and so I decided to enter the room and find out who she was taking to. There wasn’t anybody in the room. But on her bed facing her sat George, her Teddy. I didn’t let her know that I had heard the conversation that day and swallowed the tears. George is now sitting on our family couch and whenever I look at him, it does feel as if he is taking care of me, as if her love flows through him embracing me. “

~ by spasmicallyperfect on March 1, 2007.

5 Responses to “A girl’s last request”

  1. how beautifully sweet and poignant. thanks for telling the story.
    sarah

    You are welcome. Really like the Teddy, he’s so cute.

  2. Amazing.
    If only we would all listen more often maybe we’d find more good in the world.
    Very emotional post for me.
    ~m
    Yes. We’ve all heard about big name heros who inspire us. Finding the heros in the people next to us adds another level, and the possibility that there’s one in ourselves as well……

  3. […] March 17th, 2007 https://spasmicallyperfect.wordpress.com/2007/03/01/a-girls-last-request/ […]

  4. immensely powerful…
    thanks for the invoking my internal~
    great scribe~

Leave a Reply

 
