The sound of my breath

Late Monday night,
On my walk from class
Crunching through fresh white.
Suddenly my footsteps stop
And it becomes silent,
No, not quite, my breath –
I hold it.
Nothing. – Mute. –

My eyes look around,
Without moving my head,
Following falling snowflakes,
The only proof that life hasn’t halted.

I think I can hear them
As they land on the ground
In front of the old church.
A city in complete silence,
Interrupted only
By the sound of my breath.
Beautiful.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on February 27, 2007.

One Response to “The sound of my breath”

  1. Something we need desperately to do more of: listen.
    Nice post. great picture.
    ~m

    Thank you Michael.

Leave a Reply

 
