Don’t give up on your day to soon…..

It was one of those mornings, one of those mornings where still half asleep I realize that Kea (my Golden Retriever) had snuck into the bedroom, onto the bed and decided that like humans she needed to lie down parallel to me with her head taking over my pillow.

Since unable to turn around, sandwiched between canine and spouse, I wake up enough to not be able to go back to sleep. One glance outside, confirms subzero temperatures and the sun has yet a long way to go before rising. Great, I’ll be grumpy for the rest of the day that hasn’t even started yet!

Then somewhere in between getting a head start and the last possible time of departure from our house, something happened. Time just decided to speed up, without having the courtesy to let me know. 10 minutes before scheduled departure I glance at the clock in disbelief, standing in the hallway with wet hair, no make up, unable to find two matching socks or a pantyhose without a hole, having had no breakfast nor time to make my coffee. My day just turned from grumpy to bad.

I do make it out the house and catch the train. With socks but without my cell phone, my coffee (which was sitting readily made in a travel mug next to the front door), my keys, my keycard, having charged up my laptop battery, having to put on make up and brush my hair while the train is moving and people are staring at me from behind their papers, laughing at this disorganized person obviously lacking the discipline it takes to make it in life. Their ‘L’s where burning through their papers right into my confidence.

Fine, I grab ‘The Economist’ out of my backpack in a desperate attempt to at least appear smart, while I accidentally knock over my neighbour’s coffee which of course he didn’t forget. Somewhere in between “See, you’re no better off now!”-Schadenfreude and “I am such a looser”-pain, I make this really bad face while mumbling an apology. There goes the “The Economist”-image improvement plan. And on top of it, the train announces a longer delay, which will not get me to work in time, on a day where I don’t have a cell phone to call the office and let them know, and where borrowing any of my fellow train ride passenger’s phone is no longer an option as I have already made too much of a fool out of myself.

I did make it to downtown eventually. And as I walked up the street to my work, asking myself how I deserved such a morning, it hit me: I was going to have a great rest of the day! After all, it couldn’t get much worse.

6 hours later, that still rings true….. so don’t give up on your days too easily!

~ by spasmicallyperfect on February 16, 2007.

One Response to “Don’t give up on your day to soon…..”

  1. oh dear, this sounds all too familiar. but at least you got all the bad stuff out of the way – so most of the day could be good. well done!
    sarah

Leave a Reply

 
