Writing exercise

I kneeled down and touched his hair.

It was as red and as soft as his mother’s.

“Do you know who I am?” I asked gently.

“Yes”, he said hesitantly, “You are Mum’s friend, the one that stole her high school sweet heart. “

Great! I thought to myself and inquired:.

“Anything else she told you about me?”

“Yes, she said if I ever was in trouble, you’d be the one that would always be there for me. “

This brought tears to my eyes, and before I had a chance to wipe them away, he added:

“And you cry a lot too, but that’s just because your heart overflows a lot”.

Three sentences was all it took to summarise 25 years of friendship to her son, the same three sentences that made him an expert as we met each other for the first time. “You are a genius” I praised my friend’s spirit and stuck somewhere in between a grin and more tears, I stretched out my hand:

“Hello, I am Kate, nice to meet you”.

“Nice to meet you too”, he replied.

I looked up at the flight attendant and back at the young man.

“Tom, do you know why you are here?”

“Yes, I am supposed to live with you now. Mum said you had an ice rink in the back and a pool in your house. Is that true?”

“That is true”, I laughed. I got up and thanked the flight attendant:

“I think we can take it from here”.

He gave her a hug and grabbed his back pack. I picked up his suitcase and out we marched towards the parking lot.

I had no clue how I was going to handle the next hours, days, months, years. One phone call was all it took to shift my entire life focus from myself to this 6 year old. “Sophie had a brain aneurysm, she is gone” was how it started and it ended in “as you know, she wanted you to take care of him, should anything ever happen to her”.

I knew. We had joked about that many times, how it would screw him up, being raised by both of us. Now it was reality, a reality that I hadn’t digested yet, a reality that I would have to help Tom digest, as a second mother somehow. It didn’t help that I felt like a lost child myself.

“Too bad”, his voice woke me from my thoughts, “I know Mummy was really looking forward to seeing you again. Well, I’ll have to make the best of it, for her”. And with that he reached for my hand.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on November 29, 2006.

One Response to “Writing exercise”

  1. Very effective from start to end. Was this writing exercise just a free composition style, or was there a theme? You write well.

    It was about a describing a short moment of conversation in which a much bigger story with an emotional impact was wrapped up. Just playing really. Thank you, ‘effective’ and ‘write well’ suits me fine 🙂 .

Leave a Reply

 
