Empty seat

the empty seat in front of me
invites my mind to travel
through the numerous memories that we share.
I have gotten used to you no longer sitting here,
my heart not yet,
and so the moments when
heart and mind collide
remain painful.

Not crippling painful,
as not even my heart believes in that,
but painful enough
to remind me
that you are too important to give up.

So yes, the physical distance
has increased and my eyes
don’t get to see your sunshine
as often anymore.
But it takes more than an empty seat
to break my heart,
especially when it comes to you.
That, my heart knows as well as I do.
With that I lift my feet
up on to the seat
and look forward to our next encounter,
the new you,
no matter where you are
and who you have become.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on November 4, 2006.

2 Responses to “Empty seat”

  1. But it takes more than an empty seat
    to break my heart,
    especially when it comes to you.

    Such a beautiful thought.
    Bitterweet and sad post.
    I think I love it.
    ~m
    thank you. I like it too, although to me it’s more ‘bittersweet and inspiring’, or maybe it just hopes to be 😐

  2. For how long can one say ‘it’s taken’

Leave a Reply

 
