‘Turning into my mother’ or ‘getting ready for vacation’

Ok.
Enough!
Sit down, breathe, in and out, in and out.
Relaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaax.
5 hours to go until pick up for the ride to the airport.
Plenty of time, to pack 2 suitcases, shop for everything that I had left for last minute
leave the house clean enough so that the neighbour watering the plants won’t find a speck
of fingerpointing dust.
Oh yes, would be a good thing to get dressed too.
Fine, let’s write a quick and calming blog entry to keep things in perspective as
spasmically perfect me is now spasmically perfectly stressed.
Why?
Only God and my subconcious knows.
So, as my eyes race around the house, I recognise the scene.
I also recognise the sense of urgency and despair
. There is no denying it.
I have turned into my Mother getting ready for a trip.
How that happened I will have to analyse in more depth on the plane ride
when I’ll have nothing else to do.
I always found Dad’s way of getting ready for trips so much more sensible.
Now Dad’s way has turned into my husband’s way and is driving me crazy.
I can do this!
I can go back to my early travel days where there were only a hand full of important items:
Ticket, passport, travel insurance, credit cards, keys and addresses of people who have
been chosen to receive a postcard.
The rest is good to have but not the end of the world if it doesn’t make it.
Oh, have to add another item: journal and pen, and my dear D20.
Good.
Done.
Almost. Valium pills for the flight, as my imagination has this way of sneaking on the plane
without a ticket.
All of a sudden 4 hours and 45 minutes seems like plenty of time.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on September 19, 2006.

One Response to “‘Turning into my mother’ or ‘getting ready for vacation’”

  1. Have a great holiday,SP.
    Relax, relax, relax.
    Hope you brought some paper and a good pen…
    Be well, be safe.
    See you when you return.

    ~Michael

Leave a Reply

 
