Aids

This was one of the first poems I ever wrote, I think I was 12.
While walking past a forgotten poster from the Aids conference today I remembered it again. Finally found it in an old journal and posting it here seemed the right thing to do.
It has been in public before and the critism I got back then, sent my writing to the closet.
Well, this one is brave enough to come back out :

AIDS
Here on the doctor’s bed I lie
Words of hope, but still I cry
Waited for the big relief
But now tears run down, I cannot believe.
Tell me things I want to hear
Now that the end is much too clear.
All the things I might have done wrong,
Yesterday – and way back long.
Is it anger, fear or shame?
Unknown person left to blame.
Oh, forget about honesty,
All I wanted is to be free
One great flood – and I go under
Is it fate? I sit and wonder.
My childhood dreams do now resemble
broken pieces that make me tremble.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on September 16, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
