Why?

 

How comforting to see
a herd of cows grazing
on a lush green carpet of thick grass,
and to find adjacent a field of corn
heavy cobs ready to be harvested,
the earth’s pantry full with offerings
will not only fill my hungry stomach
but even more so my grateful heart.

As the train rolls on towards downtown
the blue rivers turn to streams of concrete,
trees are replaced by steel constructions,
shelters for the night turned into fulltime entertainment boxes,
disguised prison cells full of unecessary necessities.
A pile of bursting garbage bags on a sidewalk makes me wonder
what my grandmother would say to all this waste.

~ by spasmicallyperfect on August 25, 2006.

2 Responses to “Why?”

  1. This is a very nice piece, albeit a bit sad.
    I’ve thought many times in many situations, “what would my grandmother think?”
    Nice to see someone actually write it.
    Thanks for visiting the blog.
    be well.

    ~Michael

    ps. I really enjoyed reading your “about” page

  2. Glad to see that I not only made it to the end of the “what on earth am I going to write in the ‘about’ section”-thinkathon but that someone even enjoyed the result :-).

    Thank you for your kind words Michael and I am looking forward to exploring your blog further.

Leave a Reply

 
